The island of Curieuse lies in a designated marine park and was given its name after a schooner that came to visit the island in 1768, under the command of explorer Marc-Joseph Marion du Fresne.
In 1771 sailors set fire to the island, intending to make the harvesting of Coco de Mer easier, the fire destroyed much of the islands native forests and trees and today, more than 250 years later, indications of the fire can still be seen.
In 1979 the island and surrounding waters was declared a Marine National Park in order to protect the native wildlife. Since then successful rehabilitations have taken place. Roughly 500 Aldabra Giant Tortoises live on the island, 300 near the Ranger‘s station and 200 in the wild. Visitors can also see the rare Seychelles Black Parrot, which is found only on Curieuse and Praslin.
The island also has a rich History, in 1833 it was used as a Leprosarium, housing hundreds of Leprosy sufferers. In 1873, Dr William Macgregor stationed at curieuse and built a large colonial style house at Anse Sainte Joseph, close to the leper colony. Today, after a full restoration in 1996, the doctors house still stands and it has been turned into a national monument which houses a museum and information centre for visitors to the marine park.
Visitors to the island can experience both nature and history at its finest.